SOUND SPIKE: Jonny Lang preps for “Fight For My Soul” tour

Blues singer/guitarist Jonny Lang has mapped out extensive North American and European excursions in support of his long-awaited new album, “Fight For My Soul.”

The Grammy winner will close out the summer with a slew of performances that begin Friday (7/5) in Muskegon, WI, and extend through a Sept. 27 show in Glenside, PA. Two weeks in Europe follow, after which Lang will return stateside for a second leg that includes club and theater shows kicking off Oct. 18 in Houston, TX. That portion boasts 13 performances through a Nov. 24 concert in Atlanta, GA.

Lang is preparing for the Sept. 17 drop of “Fight For My Soul,” his sixth studio album. The collection marks the musician’s first new effort since 2006’s “Turn Around,” which won a Grammy Award for Best Rock or Rap Gospel Album.

“Some of these songs may surprise people, but that’s what it’s all about,” Lang said of the new album in a press release. “It keeps it fresh, and it keeps me growing. Creatively, I think there is a lot more going on inside of me than I’ve been sharing on record so far. Much of what I’ve experienced through music and life in general is in these songs.”


July 2013
5 – Muskegon, MI – Coast West Music Festival
7 – Kansas City, MO – Harrah’s North Kansas City Voodoo Lounge (w/ Buddy Guy)
18 – Spokane, WA – Bing Crosby Theater
20 – Brooks, CA – Club 88 at Cache Creek Casino Resort
21 – Saratoga, CA – The Mountain Winery
23 – San Diego, CA – Humphrey’s Concerts by the Bay
24 – San Juan Capistrano, CA – The Coach House
25 – Agoura Hills, CA – Canyon Club
27 – Las Vegas, NV – Boulder Station Hotel & Casino

August 2013
2 – Lockport, NY – Ulrich City Courtyard
3 – Falls Church, VA – The State Theatre
10 – Arlington, VA – Festival of the River
17 – Thief River Falls, MN – The Last Ride Blues Festival

September 2013
5 – Urbana, IL – Krannert Center
6 – Bayfield, WI – Big Top Chautauqua
7 – Saint Charles, IL – Arcada Theatre
8 – West Des Moines, IA – Val Air Ballroom
13 – Foxboro, MA – Showcase Live
14 – Durant, OK – Choctaw Casino Resort
15 – Lincoln, NE – Bourbon Theatre
17 – Fargo, ND – Fargo Theatre
18 – Minneapolis, MN – The State Theatre
20 – Rockford, IL – Coronado Performing Arts Center (w/ Buddy Guy)
21 – Madison, WI – Overture Center for the Arts (w/ Buddy Guy)
22 – St. Louis, MO – The Pageant
24 – Cleveland, OH – House of Blues
26 – Boston, MA – Wilbur Theatre
27 – Glenside, PA – Keswick Theatre

October 2013
1 – Paris, France – New Morning
3 – London, United Kingdom – Borderline
5 – Avignon, France – Avignon Blue Festival
6 – Zurich, Switzerland – X-TRA
8 – Hamburg, Germany – Fabrik Hamburg
9 – Bochum, Germany – Zeche
10 – Munich, Germany – Muffathalle
12 – Nancy, France – Nancy Jazz Pulsations
14 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Melkweg
15 – Brussels, Belgium – AB Club @ Ancienne Belgique
18 – Houston, TX – House of Blues
19 – New Orleans, LA – Lafayette Square
20 – Dallas, TX – House of Blues
22 – Denver, CO – Ogden Theatre
23 – Durango, CO – Fort Lewis College
26 – Beverly Hills, CA – Saban Theatre

November 2013
8 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues
10 – Carmel, IN – The Palladium
12 – Greensburg, PA – Palace Theatre
15 – Cranston, RI – RI Center for the Arts at Park Theatre
16 – Port Chester, NY – The Capitol Theatre
23 – Lake Buena Vista, FL – House of Blues
24 – Atlanta, GA – Center Stage Theater




Story by Tara Hall
SoundSpike Senior Writer
Published July 3, 2013 06:51 AM
Photo: Jeff Gerew / SoundSpike

USA TODAY: Premiere Jonny Lang’s new single ‘Blew Up (The House)’

‘Blew Up (The House)’ begins Lang’s first studio album since 2006, ‘Fight for My Soul.’

Jonny Lang hasn’t released a new studio album in seven years. Fight for My Soul breaks the drought on Sept. 17.

The album’s first single, Blew Up (The House), premiering at USA TODAY, is an incendiary blues-rock stomper about taking extreme measures to make a fresh start.

Fight for My Soul is the singer-guitarist’s follow-up to his Grammy-winning 2006 album Turn Around. Lang recorded Fight for My Soul over a three-year period with producer/songwriter Tommy Sims, whose other credits include co-writing the Eric Clapton hit Change the World.

“Some of these songs may surprise people, but that’s what it’s all about,” Lang says in a release about Fight for My Soul. “It keeps it fresh, and it keeps me growing. Creatively, I think there is a lot more going on inside of me than I’ve been sharing on record so far. Much of what I’ve experienced through music and life in general is in these songs.”

Lang kicks off his 2013 tour July 18 in Spokane, Wash. In October, he’ll begin his first European tour in more than a decade.

Fight for My Soul track listing

Blew Up (The House)

Breakin’ In

We Are The Same

What You’re Looking For

Not Right

The Truth


Fight For My Soul

All Of A Sudden


I’ll Always Be



Fight For My Soul: Jonny Lang’s First studio album in 7 years.

Jonny_Lang_FightForMySoul 300xIt’s been seven years since Jonny Lang released a new studio album, but the wait is almost finally over. Lang will release “Fight For My Soul” – the follow up to his Grammy Award Winning 2006 album “Turn Around“, on September 2nd in UK and Europe through Mascot Label Group and September 17th in US and Canada with Concord Music Group. Lang has been working on the release for three years with Producer Tommy Sims, who co-wrote Eric Clapton’s Grammy winning “Change the World.” The duo collaborated on the project from the ground up.

“With this album, I’m looking forward to going to different territories and countries all over the world, and just trying to be a positive presence for people in places where I have never been before,” Lang commented. “I’m excited to do that. It sounds like we’ll be going to some new destinations this time around, and I really look forward to it. “



The album defies categorization by a single genre. The textured arrangements, broad worldview, gorgeous vocal melodies, and expressive guitar playing are what defines “Fight For My Soul.” It is unequivocally what Lang aimed to achieve over the long period he has been working on reaching a realized vision. He offers, “Much of what I’ve experienced through music and life in general is in these songs. I really like reaching out and connecting with people. For me, this is what it’s all about. It keeps it fresh with different experiences every day.”

“We are thrilled to be finally able to work with Jonny Lang and I predict that he has a glorious future ahead of him,” remarked Mascot Label Group owner/founder Ed van Zijl. “What a voice!”

Since the release of his 1997 major label debut “Lie To Me“, the then 16 year-old Lang has built a reputation as one of the best live performers and guitarists of his generation.

Jonny_Lang_2757Reala“This particular record has taken quite a long time to finish for a lot of different reasons, Lang remarked. “Most of all, I started having kids a few years back. Between being with the family, and being out on the road touring, the last thing you want to do when home is to go make a record. I’m really happy with the body of work we have for this one. It’s kind of hard to be excited and know what the record going to be like when the process is extended over such a long period of time. Today, sitting here, I’m really proud of the recordings.”